Karen Answers Candace D.

Comment by Candace D. on August 7, 2008 11:09 pm

Dear Karen,

How do you deal with stories in the news that talk about abused children, domestic violence and general violence?

Candace D.
Texas

Dear Candace,

It’s hard to listen to the news at times. It saddens me to hear of a child being abused, a woman being raped or beaten, and violence by angry individuals. I just wish it never would happen. I believe the media shares these stories to bring awareness to the public, so such activities aren’t be kept secret. There are certain times, especially when I feel weak, that I need to turn off the news.

It’s heartbreaking for me to hear these stories and not be able to help. One reason I allowed my story to be told was in hope that women and children who are targets of violence can get help before becoming chronic victims. I believe there are early signs that many women don’t pay attention to that signal they and their children in danger.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

