Karen Answers Tony

Comment by Tony on August 18, 2008 11:48 pm

Hi Karen,

I never read such an intense book. How you survived childhood is shocking. How you survived therapy is pure craziness. What condition were you in after each session? Did anyone help you get to and from your appointments? I would of left sick most of the time. Dr. Baer and you had a perfect doctor and patient relationship. Is your relationship still perfect? The doctor I have for my therapy does not like me much. I wish he would tell me to find another doctor. I speak poor English. Can this be why?

Tony

Dear Tony,

Yes, Switching Time is an intense book to read, and I’m glad you survived reading it. Therapy is hard work. Dr. Baer and I had to work hard to keep our therapeutic relationship going. I’m not sure about Dr. Baer, but I assume we both were emotionally drained after each session. I always felt exhausted.

Most of the time I drove myself to and from sessions, and when unable, Holdon, an ex-alter, made sure I’d get home safely. There were a few times, when I felt confused, that I’d call Dr. Baer and he would put me under hypnosis, over the phone, and ask Holdon to drive us home. Switching was not always a perfect system.

A perfect therapeutic relationship? Is there such a thing? I don’t think so. In a perfect world, I wouldn’t have needed therapy. But, if you’re referring to that together, Dr. Baer and I succeeded, made a commitment never to give up and built our relationship on respect and trust and accomplished it all, then yes, it was, if not perfect, absolutely good enough.

I’m not a therapist, but I feel you should talk to your therapist about your feelings that your therapist doesn’t like you. It could very well be that he’s waiting for you to bring this up. I surely don’t believe he doesn’t like you because you think you speak poor English. Therapists never say much, they just listen. That’s what they do. Please share your thoughts with your therapist. This could be one of the reasons you’re in therapy.

Thanks for your compliments,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

