Karen Answers John’s Fourth Question

Comment by John on August 21, 2008 11:45 am

Hello Karen,

Therapy is going well for me. It’s not fun by far but is helping. Since reading your book helped me recognize that I needed professional help I can understand how certain things from the past stay with you as an adult. Such weirdness to imagine that something that happened to me as a child can cause me a problem as an adult. I haven’t gone through anything like you have. I expect my therapy to be short term. I didn’t share my going to therapy with my girfriend at this time but our relationship is becoming stronger. I think it’s because I can see where my strengths and weakness are. I would like to encourage others to go for help when something doesn’t feel right inside yourself. When you talk to someone not related it’s helpful and you can get a much better understanding of yourself. This is what I’ve come to know.

Thank you, Karen for your ability to share. Dr. Baer must be proud of you.

John

Dear John,

Thank you for sharing. I am glad that you are working through your issues in therapy and noticing a positive change in your relationship with your girlfriend. I know what you mean when you say it’s weird how your childhood can affect you as an adult. And you’re right about talking to someone who can see things objectively.

Thank you for encouraging others to seek help when something within them doesn’t feel right.

All my best,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

