Karen Answers Maureen

Comment by Maureen on September 5, 2008 7:24 pm

DEAR KAREN OVERHILL,
I HAVE SUFFERED FROM DEPRESSION FOR MANY YEARS AND AM NOT A MULTIPLE PERSONALITY BUT IDENTIFY WITH SO MUCH OF YOUR STORY. THE PAIN IS THE SAME. I WAS HESITANT TO READ SWITCHING TIME AT FIRST BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WOULD TRIGGER MORE DEPRESSED THOUGHTS BUT IT DID’NT. YOUR STORY AND DR BAER’S CARE MADE ME FEEL I CAN DO IT TOO. THANK YOU FOR MAKING ME SEE THROUGH YOUR EYES THE POSSIBILTY OF SURVIVAL. HOW DO YOU AND DR BAER TOLERATE EACH OTHER AFTER SO MANY YEARS OF A STRESSFULLY INTENSE RELATIONSHIP?

MAUREEN

Dear Maureen,

You’re right, the pain is the same. Pain is pain. And depression hurts… I am glad that you chose to read Switching Time. I know it is a difficult story to read, but it’s very important to finish reading it because of its positive message. I am touched by your honesty of being hestitant before reading. This means that you are taking care of yourself and thinking through what may or may not be good for you. This is a very important step to take in your own healing process. Always take care of yourself first. I sometimes have trouble doing this for myself. It’s good to know that something within my story brought you awarenesses in your own healing.

I never really thought that Dr. Baer and I just tolerate each other. Tolerate is such a strong word, which feels a bit standoffish. Dr. Baer and I care for each other. However, Dr. Baer’s unconditional care has taught me that I can allow someone to care for me and that I can, in return, allow myself to care back. I’d never experienced before what I’ve experienced with Dr. Baer. He never gave up on me, no matter how many times I stressed him. Dr. Baer and I have gone through quite an amazing journey together. We have a unique close and respectful relationship, bound by trust.

Thank you for sharing. I wish you well.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

