Karen Answers Cynthia’s Third Question

Comment by Cynthia on September 10, 2008 4:40 pm

Karen, I know all of us who have come from child abuse are true survivors and that gives me a lot of strength when I focus on that each day. I guess what I seem to struggle with the most is that no matter what kind of relationship I get myself involved in, I never feel I can fully trust anyone. The hardest part of being a survivior of child abuse is the loneliness that can be quite painful at times. I have never felt accepted or understood by anyone not even my own husband. I believe in a higher power and have felt a presence of love and peace when I went to God in prayer. I just need to hold on to that for now in order to survive all of this.

Thanks for listening,

Cynthia

Dear Cynthia,

I know how hard it is to trust. I empathize with you. It takes time to heal and to learn to trust again after being so hurt in childhood. I am glad to hear you believe in a higher power and that this helps you get through each day. Please hold onto this feeling of love and peace you’ve found in prayer and know that you are not alone. What helps me through difficult times is knowing that I still have faith, even through my darkest times. I understand that you feel lonely at times and that can be quite painful. I’ve been there, too.

Please seek help from a professional therapist who can help you see things through an objective point of view. Therapy does help.

I wish you all the best.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

