Karen Answers Friends of Break The Silence

Comment by Break The Silence on September 8, 2008 11:15 pm

Dear Karen Overhill,

Thank you for all your hard work for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s, Break The Silence Today Benefit. Thank you for making time to help us. You have no idea how much you have inspired the volunteers. Knowing where you came from and how wonderful and nice you are today, has us believing there is hope in this world for those who suffer from depression and suicidal thoughts. We are happy to know you are alive to tell your story. You told us it takes time to heal, to have faith. We believe it’s so. Best wishes with Switching Time’s paperback sales! We hope you continue to share your wisdom with others.

Your newfound Break The Silence friends

Dear Friends,

Thank you for all your compliments. I enjoyed helping with the benefit. The importance of raising funds to help people to recognize those who have suicidal thoughts is important to me. During the times I felt bad, I never heard anything to help me with my thoughts of ending my own life. I felt alone until I found help in therapy. I hope others can get a chance to understand why they feel suicidal. If one life can be saved, because help is near, then all the effort is worthwhile.

I have been touched by all of you. Through your stories and experiences, I have learned how families are affected by the loss of a loved one. I admire all of you and your strength despite your grief and pain. You bring awareness, not shame, to these desperate young people. You Break the Silence.

I wish all of you the best; thank you for caring.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

