Karen Answers JR

Comment by JR on September 27, 2008 11:33 pm

Hello Karen,

Who can really understand the life you’ve had without being exposed to childhood abuse themself? I haven’t been abused as you were but can feel your pain while reading this book. How can you possibly move forward after such an ordeal? Do you have any regrets? If you do, what are they and how to you forsee your future? The book being written can’t possibly provide comfort, or can it? Definitely a must read, powerfully intense and written with compassion. Great work!

JR

Dear JR,

Thank you for your concerns. I admit, it is difficult to move forward after a lifetime of abuse, but I try the best I can. Whenever I have a bad day and I get down, I despair that my life can’t be happy. This isn’t realistic. I know this. I know my abusers can no longer hurt me. They are dead, and I am trying my best to live.

Regrets? Yes, I do have a few. Doesn’t everyone? Life is difficult for me. I make mistakes and learn from them. The book wasn’t written to provide me with comfort; it was written to share my story to help others through their own journeys, to bring awareness to childhhod abuse victims and the adults who care for them. I wish for a sense of calm and peace, and to know that somehow my story will make a difference in saving the life of a child.

Thank you for your compliments. I agree, Switching Time is a must read, powerfully intense, and compassionately written by Dr. Baer.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

