Karen Answers Genevieve

Comment by Genevieve on October 6, 2008 3:12 am
Dear Karen,

I have read Switching Time, the prologue, the story and epilogue were powerful. I bought it today, finished it today. I would like to know what you are doing to be happy. I may not have the right to ask this but this book must be keeping you insecure and not well. When any patient reveals their true story in a book there must be sadness when the past interferes with today. I also would like to know how you manage to change your relationship without switching, with the doctor, do the book business, from doctor to a friend and back to him as doctor when answering these questions. This must be nerve wrecking for you, does he understand you? And you him? I am excited and am ready to start sharing Switching Time with my friends and family tonight.

Genevieve
Murfreesboro, TN

Dear Genevieve,

Of course revealing my story was a bit overwhelming at first. How could it not be? I’ve matured over time and have come to accept my past and all the horrors I once suffered. Yes, there is a sadness that comes over me at times; the difference is now I deal with it as soon as possible and know there’s no room in my present life for the pain that once was a part of my past. I’m able to look forward and share my story without distress. I’m grateful that I’m able to accomplish this with help from Dr. Baer. If it weren’t for his supporting my decision to share, and my allowing him to write this book, I may not have become as strong as I have.

The book, Switching Time, has not kept me insecure and unwell. The book itself was never a threat to me. However, life itself, and the challenges that life brings can cause me to feel a bit insecure and unwell at times. Those who have abused me are long gone and no longer a threat to me. I’m happy to share my journey in hope to help others with their own. I continue to live my life in the best way I can, but I know there’s always room for improvement.

Regarding my changing relationship with Dr. Baer, this has not been a problem for me, although, it may have been more awkward for him. I’ve always been attuned to everyone and can easily shift gears. This is my special gift. There are times when misunderstandings can cause me grief and it’s at these times it’s most important for me to talk them through. I usually come to an understanding of what’s set me off and recognize it was triggered from some past experience. Once I understand, I’m okay. I believe Dr. Baer and I understand each other most of the time.

Thank you for all your compliments and for sharing Switching Time with your family and friends.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

