Karen Answers Geoffrey

Comment by Geoffrey on October 9, 2008 10:38 am
Hi Karen,

What a mind boggler of a book, complicated in a way that each sentence had to be read or you would lose the meaning. I learned a lesson when I tried to skim through the book and had to go back before deciding to start again and read every word. One giant puzzle. Written with talent from each of your alters, Richard Baer and you. A group effort needless to say.

My questions: What do you like to do now that you are one woman? Do you have the same interests that your alters once had? When you integrated your alters did you like the new version of you after each integration or after all alters were integrated? How did you explain your differences to the people who knew you? Did you lose friendships and rid some of them?

Geoffrey

Dear Geoffrey,

Thank you for going back and reading Switching Time word for word, in order to not miss anything meaningful that would change your thoughts on our story. I agree, it’s hard to skim through my story because it is a puzzle. I appreciate all of your compliments, especially on behalf of my alters and Dr. Baer, for they were the true stars here.

I do have some of the same interests my alters had. I just never seem to have enough time to take on each interest wholeheartedly. I dream of doing some of the same things. For instance, I recently went on an artist’s tour, visiting six artists in their homes or studios. It was fun and had me wanting to resurrect my past artistic ability.

Regarding liking myself after each alters’ integration. All of my alters were already a part of me, before, during and after integration. Of course, as each alter integrated, there was a period of getting use to them; adding on idea’s and thoughts that I was unaware of beforehand. It did take a toll on me. However, as one woman, completely integrated, I became the woman I was meant to be.

During the integrations I stayed pretty much to myself. I was exhausted most of the time and needed this time to heal. I tried my best to be social but there were times I couldn’t be. Most who knew me assumed my distance was due to the physical pain I endured from my lung surgery. I would only share when asked, and say I wasn’t feeling well, while taking special care not to hurt anyone’s feelings. My close friends understood and were there for me when I needed them. Interestingly, during this time I learned not only to be a better friend, but learned who my true friends were. Unfortunately, for or my own sense of well being, I had to end some friendships. I never hated anyone, but it was important to end some stressful relationships in order for me to move forward and heal.

Thank you for your questions,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

