Karen Answers Rosemary

Comment by Rosemary on October 9, 2008 1:51 am
Dear Karen,

Congratulations on surviving an horrific childhood and being able to share your experiences in the book and here as people need to ask questions. MPD may not fit into the question I have, but there must be similarities to other depressive illnesses that you can understand. I am not one to ever feel depressed until now. I just turned 55 and feel the weight of the world on my shoulders. Could it be because most people suffer from depression in the autumn months? Do you ever feel this way? My physician told me once someone suffers from depression it can be life long. Do you suffer from depression? I had thoughts of ending my life recently and as I read your story and this blog I know my life has been wonderful compared to what you went through. I am glad to know you through your writing. I am one of the woman who really did benefit. Thank you for not pretending to be perfect and admitting that you still have bad days. Women need to hear from real women like you.

The best to you and yours and to your compassionate doctor friend,

Rosemary

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you! I am glad to be able to share my experiences and answer questions. However, I am not a therapist and can only share my own personal thoughts and experiences. Surviving a horrific childhood, with MPD, doesn’t take away the fact that at times I also suffered from depression. After many years of therapy my episodes now are usually brief and last no longer than the problem at hand. During therapy I learned how to deal with these episodes. I have heard of seasonal affective disorder (S.A.D.) but am not sure if this was one of the reasons I suffered.

I’m glad my story inspired your own healing. It’s nice to hear encouraging compliments, but reading Switching Time is not a cure. Please be sure to seek professional help for your depressed and suicidal thoughts, even though you felt reading this book may have been a benefit to you. Your life is precious and these thoughts you’re struggling with may come back again. It’s important to understand where these thoughts were coming from. There are times when all of us need to reach out for help.

Please ask for help if you need to. I do.

All my best,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

