Karen Answers Faith

Comment by Faith on October 11, 2008 2:11 am
Hi Karen,

Thank you for sharing your life with us and your doctor. I couldn’t put the book down. It was very intense. Dr. Baer did a great job taking care of all of you. I am fortunate never to have been abused. I can’t imagine how painful your life has been. The story was so real I actually felt your pain while reading it. If you can, please describe what kind of father you had? When you were young what did you dream?

Love,
Faith

Dear Faith,

Thank you all of your compliments! Sharing my story with Dr. Baer first, and then in our book, Switching Time, has been quite an intense journey. Sharing my past wasn’t easy, but it was definitely therapeutic. Accepting all that had happened to me and learning to live in the present for the first time has been a journey all its own. And yes, Dr. Baer always did a great job taking care of me and continues to try his best.

My story is a true story. Unfortunately, these type of stories are rarely discussed. Therefore I try to share. Awareness is important. My life has been painful, and it is my hope it’s never too late to make a difference.

I would describe my father as a cross between Archie Bunker and the real life murderer John Wayne Gacy. As a child, I dreamt that I would someday find someone who really loved me and who would take me away from my family. I dreamt of being happy, traveling around the world to the many places I’d read about, and be surrounded by beauty, peace and meeting nice people.

Thank you for your questions,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

