Karen Answers Julia

Comment by Julia on October 10, 2008 12:57 pm
Hi,

What is your favorite color? favorite candy? favorite fast food restaurant? favorite actress/actor? favorite car? favorite homecooked meal? favorite old movie? I am in highschool and read your book after my mom left it on the table. I don’t know that she’d approve I read it but it’s too late. My mom never reads books and she did yours. When she finished she took a deep breath and cried. I asked her why and she said you were the most inspiring woman she read about and took my sister and I out to dinner. All she kept saying was you girls would tell me if anyone ever hurts you wouldn’t you? My sister jenny and me said yes but I still didn’t understand. I think I know why? I am fifteen.

Julia

Dear Julia,

Thank you for sharing that you read Switching Time. At fifteen, this story must’ve disturbed you. Please, please, tell your mom that you read this book and discuss your feelings with her. Being a mom myself, I would want to know that my daughter read this book, how she felt, and what was on her mind. I can understand why this book interested you. Afterall, your mother said encouraging words by saying I am the most inspiring woman she’s read about. I, too, would’ve wanted to read a book that brought a sigh, tears, and inspiration to my mother.

My story may be too harsh for you to understand since you are just starting to form new relationships. Of course, not all girls are abused as I was. It’s my wish to help adults, like your mother, to pay attention to their children. This could be why your Mom asked you if you would tell her if someone hurt you. It’s nice your Mom took you out to dinner to talk; this makes me happy to hear. She loves you and your sister and is grateful that you girls are happy well.

About my favorites, I have many favorites, but some are the color red, dark chocolate, Panera Bread, a car that runs, Meryl Streep, Susan Sarandon, Diane Keaton, Julia Roberts, Sandra Bullock, Richard Gere, Colin Firth, all home cooked meals that someone invites me to, and the movie “While You Were Sleeping”, to name a few…

Wishing you all the best in life,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

