Karen answers Jack Raymond

Comment by Jack Raymond on October 18, 2008 2:21 am

Hello Karen,

Never before would a book make me question myself on what I would say were false memories caused by trauma and played out to be dissociative. I never before believed in this claimed illness. I would guess you needed extreme attention from someone and chose the doc who was gullible and needed someone like you to make him feel great about himself. A bit twisted but thats what I thought when during a psych class assignment we were suggested to read Switching Time. I read the book and changed my mind completely. I will never again prejudge an illness or anyone claiming to have an illness until I know the facts. I for one believe in this illness, and the therapy that gave you life. On another note thank you for not boring us like the book Sybil. I read the book Sybil and found it hard to get into, poorly written and unbelievable. Switching Time should rise above Sybil. I hate reading, got into your book.

Jack Raymond

Dear Jack Raymond,

Why would anyone wish to spend eighteen years in therapy just to seek attention?  I could think of million more fun things to do with my time, energy, and money than to spend an hour or more per week pouring out unflattering stories of past childhood abuse. And I surely can’t conceive Dr. Baer needed my case to make himself feel great about himself.  My therapeutic relationship with Dr. Baer worked well because he already exuded confidence and I was attuned to this.

I am glad your college professor chose our book, Switching Time, to read as an assignment, and not just for you, but for all those who disbelieve.  I’m glad reading my story changed your opinion and hopefully any of your classmates that had the same preconceptions as you.  I am happy to hear you will no longer judge others for their disabilities before knowing all the details. We all have our strengths and faults and need to come to respect each other for who we are.  I didn’t choose to be abused or become a multiple.  It happened.  And I dealt with it in the best way I could.  I sought help, received it, and healed. With Dr. Baer’s help we accomplished the unbelievable task of integrating my alters so that I could live as one woman.

Thank you for believing in me, and for believing in the therapy that gave me life.  I haven’t read the book, Sybil in its entirety and can’t comment on whether this book was poorly written or unbelievable.  However, I do appreciate your sharing your thoughts and critique.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

