Karen answers Claudia

Comment by Claudia Beverly Hills on October 25, 2008 11:37 pm

Hey Karen,

When you think about how your life was in the old days when people may have only needed to make three o five decisions in a day, when times were simplier and defined, how are you when bombarded with information and questions after integration of the alters who kept things separate? How do you deal with the constant noise of information and choices that may be difficult to get away from? In todays world with constant picture taking, cell phones, sound bites, computers and all the rest, how did you transfer alter ways into modern day ways? You must have had an incredible amount of shit to sift rhough. Are you done yet?

Claudia
Beverly Hills

Dear Claudia,

 

I’ve never thought about these things before you asked these questions, but I’ll try my best to answer.  My old days were lived in chaos.  If it weren’t for alter help through dissociation I’m not sure what would’ve happened to me.  I believe my dissociating was a God sent blessing.  Of course, times seemed simplier back then, and I lived one day at a time.  Most of the time I never expected to live another day. I grew up either believing I would be killed by my father or wishing I would die. Not much decision making, is there?

 

Being bombarded with life after integration was hard.  I won’t deny this.  As a matter of fact, I continue to struggle with trying to fit into the real world.  I am definitely overwhelmed by all the noise of information coming in.  It took a while before I started accepting all the new information coming in as my own reality.  I believe some of my alters learned a little of everything I needed in order to survive. I used to joke with others about knowing a little bit of everything and not enough about anything.  There is always room to learn more, and I continue to learn more each day.  

 

Thank you these challenging, thought provoking questions.

 

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

