Karen answers Danielle Leigh

Comment by Danielle Leigh on October 28, 2008 3:52 pm

Dear Karen,

Thank you for sharing your story. I complain a lot. I am privileged. I would never comprehend things like this happening in the world. My teacher had our class read your book. I didn’t want to but for a grade had to. I am inspired by you. I shall not complain again. I am so lucky never to have experienced a life like yours. I am eighteen and haven’t made any effort to learn about life. I am a freshman in college. Mom and Dad pay for everything, I am set for life and the worst memory I had in life so far was my parents not buying me a car at sixteen. I felt abuse for this? Imagine that? I did receive my car at seventeen. My problems can’t be worse than yours but I told people they are horrible selfish parents. I guess I was wrong. I am very lucky my parents gave me everything including a wonderful childhood. This book woke me up. I hate that I am privileged. I decided to change my way of controlling my parents to get what I want.

Did you have nice things growing up? Did you receive things you wanted? Did your parents buy you things for being guilty? How about nice clothes? I could never survive what you did. You are my hero.

Danielle Leigh

 

Dear Danielle Leigh,

I appreciate you sharing your story and how you became more aware of your own life through reading Switching Time. As a college freshman you’re starting your own personal journey, and you will experience many different relationships in your lifetime.  At sixteen you felt abused by not receiving a car.  Of course, this was an illusion.  In my opinion, having these feelings are okay and changing the way you feel as you look back at these experiences means you have matured.

I can understand your underlying feelings of guilt having told others that your parents were horrible and selfish.  Don’t be too hard on yourself; it’s all a part of growing up.  I believe that now you’re sorting it all out.  It’s nice to hear that you came to appreciate your parents, and that you will no longer try to control them.  This is an amazing sign of maturity.  I am glad my story was helpful.  I wish you all the best.

During my childhood there weren’t as many things for kids to get as there are today.  There were no cell phones, iPods, or laptop computers.  I lived a simple life.  I attended catholic school, came home and watched television, did my homework, and soon it was bedtime.  I had a doll or two, but I never had any designer clothing and never asked for anything. I read books from the library. I never went to a movie theater until I was eighteen.  My parents never bought me things out of guilt, but my father would buy my mother material things to make up after he’d hurt her.

Thank you for letting me inspire you; that was very touching and I truly appreciate your compliment.

Karen

1 Comment

  1. Dear Karen,

    Thank you for answering me. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw a answer to me from you and it was exactly what I needed to hear. I wasn’t feeling very good about myself. Thank you, you made me feel acceptable again. I am studying right now and stopped to think how your words of encouragment helped push me to be a better person. I have a renewed understanding of what life is about. Being privilged isn’t so bad if know what to do with what you have. I made some changes and continue to be more open to other people. I have curbed my desires. I now think before I purchase something off of my parents charge cards. I swear I thought life was all about what we have. Anyways, inproper english but I like it, thank you for being nice and accepting of how I was feeling.

    Danielle Leigh


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

