Karen answers Marilyn

Comment by Marilyn on October 31, 2008 6:50 pm

Dear Karen,

I feel so sad for you. I don’t know you but you must be petrified with Halloween and the memories triggered. I read you completed therapy but can’t imagine how you did when I could throw up just thinking about what you went through. How could you give out treats today? Can’t someone else do it?

Marilyn

Dear Marilyn,

How nice of you to think of me on this day.  I appreciated your concern, but there is no need to feel sad for me.  I am not petrified of the Halloween holiday. I no longer experience the pain I once suffered when this date triggered horrific memories. I actually enjoy the children dressing up in costumes and passing out candy treats to all the trick or treaters!  I will never again allow myself to live in fear of those who wronged me.  My horrific memories of abuse, once suffered on this day, were put to rest in the same way my abusers were—they are dead.  Besides, it’s much better to be a part of this day than to hide from it!

Happy Halloween!

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

