Karen answers Mary Jo

Comment by Mary Jo on November 2, 2008 3:25 pm

Dearest Karen,

One powerful journey! One amazing book! One great doctor! One particularily amazing patient!
One question? Why do you believe God chose you to stay?

Mary Jo

Dear Mary Jo,

I believe God has chosen me and has placed me here to make a difference in our world–to bring awareness to the horrific reality of childhood sexual abuse and what can happen to a child’s mind when betrayed by those who the child believes, loves, cares for, and trusts.

I believe my multiple personality disorder to be a God sent coping mechanism.  I thank God everyday for saving me and for allowing me to share my journey to healing, with Dr. Baer’s help, to make a difference in the lives of all those who suffer.  I believe when something unthinkable happens, as in my being abused, it may seem impossible to believe one can overcome the scars caused from inner pain.  But it is possible.  It happened to me.

I do believe in tests of faith.  I survived by having faith, even when I wasn’t aware of it. 

God bless you,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

