Karen answers Betsy

Comment by Betsy on November 29, 2008 4:51 am

I read Switching Time in two days. Unbelieveably a harrowing story for you, Karen. The title should of read Karen’s harrowing story. What possessed the publisher to title it this way? Or did Richard Baer title the book? Was Switching Time the first choice title?

I read with sorrow and awe. Richard Baer must have been an amazing doctor to take care of you. Karen, you must have been an amazing patient for Richard Baers practice. The two of you make up an amazing team. I admire you both. Will there be a second book?

Betsy

Dear Betsy, 

I appreciate you recognizing our book, Switching Time, to be a harrowing story for me, however, it actually should’ve read a harrowing story for both Dr. Baer and me.  We have both gone through a harrowing journey together.  Neither Dr. Baer nor I chose the title of our book; it was chosen by the publisher, yet I think it captures something essential about my life.

It’s true–Dr. Baer did his best to take care of me.  I will always be grateful for all he’s done.  I feel very fortunate to have found him, and believe our meeting was meant to be.  I don’t believe my being Dr. Baer’s patient had any positive effect on his practice. If anything, treating me may have taken a negative toll on him.  There were more than a few times I felt responsible for burning him out.  As far as I know, my therapy had always been kept confidential.  As a matter of fact, Dr. Baer and I didn’t decide a book could be written until well near the end of the therapeutic part of our relationship.

Thank you for your compliments and for admiring our work together. I’m not sure if there will be a second book, but Dr. Baer and I certainly have enough material to write another book if asked.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

