Karen answers Carmen

Comment by Carmen P. on December 14, 2008 5:17 am

Dear Karen,

Do you think it’s possible to create more alters after integration? I can’t know for sure but I was integrated ten years ago and believe that three alters returned this year. I’m not sure but beginning to not feel alone, if you know what I mean?. I know something’s going on and afraid to address it. What would you do if you were me? Isn’t this the ten year mark for you to? You are great and your story mirrors mine to some degree. What I really want to know is would you welcome new alters?

Carmen P.

Dear Carmen,

I’m not sure if it’s possible for me to create more alters ten years after integration. Not once have I ever felt them return.  I don’t believe the alters of my past can be resurrected. They are integrated within me and are a part of me. I don’t believe there’s any way to separate my ex-alters again from who I am today, at least this is what I believe.

I’m not a therapist and can’t give advice, but I believe you should share your concerns with a qualified therapist.  If I were you, I would address this issue immediately.

The thought of new alters being generated scares the heck out of me.  There is no room in my present life for it; I would fight against it.  Besides, all of my alters were created when I was a small child, when I didn’t have any other safe way of coping with the trauma I was experiencing.  As an adult, I’ve matured and can see the difference, and I wouldn’t tolerate and cope with abuse the same way I did.

Thank you for your interesting and thought provoking questions,

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

