Karen answers Gladys

Comment by Gladys on January 7, 2009 1:13 am

Dear Karen,

I am a victim of child sexual abuse and after reading your book found my problems minuscule to yours. I felt your pain worse than mine. Why is this so? Thank you for sharing about your life. I have learned from you a great deal and it will help me with my own issues.

Gladys

Dear Gladys,

Please don’t downplay the childhood sexual abuse you suffered by comparing yours to mine or anyone else’s. Abuse is abuse, and I’m sure yours was as devastating to you as mine was to me. It doesn’t matter how horrific, how often, or how much pain was suffered at the hands of someone hurting you. I appreciate that you empathized with my pain after you have suffered yourself.

I am glad that you found reading and understanding Switching Time to be of help with your continued journey.  Please remember that my journey was written to bring a better understanding to an incomprehensible illness and to bring awareness of what can happen to a child repeatedly sexually abused.  If you haven’t already, please seek help with a qualified therapist, if you feel the need to.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

