Karen answers Marcella

Comment by Marcella on January 20, 2009 2:25 pm

Hi Karen,Perfect answer to the question about Tara’s legs on the IMDb. It puzzled me. I picked up your book yesterday and started reading it late. What a tormented life you had, even your relationship with your therapist wasn’t all that great. I am half way through the book and felt concern for you. I never felt this way while reading a book knowing the end is clear that the patient is alive. Knowing the ending is a relief. Hearing your wise and thoughtful answers has me wondering if your therapist is still there for you. If not, shame on him! Can’t wait to finish the book. Need to put it aside for today, it’s I-Day.  Is it possible to add your answer about the legs here in your column?

You go girl!

Marcella

LA   

Dear Marcella,

Actually, Tara not feeling her legs to be her own could come from the “switching” of her alters. It’s an interesting part of being a multiple. When a switch occurs it takes a few minutes to recoup. When there is an alter change not only is there a change in personality, there is a change in posture, walking, mannerisms… simply as each of us is different, each alter is, too.

Maybe this will be discussed on a future episode of The United States of Tara.  It happens, and has happened to me, too.  One of my alters was paralyzed with leg pain from the weight of my abusers; there were many times when “Julie” came out and I couldn’t walk, felt paralyzed, and the pain was unbearable.  It took awhile after Julie’s switch before all the right feelings in my legs came back. Patience and faith that I would be normal again was a must during these times.

Regarding my relationship with Dr. Baer, he is no longer my therapist.  We do talk, however, and visit together.  I do miss our previous therapeutic relationship, because sometimes I feel I still need it.  But I’m trying to move on as best I can.

Thank you for all your compliments.

Karen

1 Comment

  1. Finished the book! OMG! I think your therapist and you should have been this show. I am priveldged to read this book. I changed my mind on your relationship with your therapist. At the beginning of the book I despised him, at the end I understood. Thank you for allowing your story to be told. I admire you guys! Appreciate all your honesty in the answers you share here and there, on IMDb!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

