Karen answers Inez

Comment by Inez on February 9, 2009 4:02 am

Dear Karen,

I was really afraid for you when I read your story. I am happy you survived. I have this nagging question, I was abused in sort of similiar ways that you were. I finished therapy seven years ago. I did well for about four years and have recently slipped back. I feel suicidal all the time and hate the idea of calling my old therapist. Would youʼve called your old doctor if he was still alive? I heard in a news report that Richard Baer died last year. I am sorry for you. I would like to talk to him but donʼt know if heʼll remember me. I had D.I.D. and was in thereapy for six years. I didnʼt have alters like you. I dissociated myself.

Inez

Dear Inez,

I’m sorry to hear that you have also been abused.  I can understand how my story made you afraid, not only for me, but for what you also experienced.

I assure you my doctor, Richard Baer, is alive and well. There are hundreds of Richard Baers, and coincidentally some are writers and authors, however the Richard Baer that wrote Switching Time is still here. I read of another Richard Baer that died last year, and I believe he was an author of another series of books, and no relation to my doctor.

Yes, I would call my former therapist if something changed and caused me to feel suicidal again–and I have. Please do seek out and call your former therapist to see if he’s still in practice.  If he isn’t, he may be able to refer you to someone who has taken on his patients.  I’m sure your doctor will remember you, especially after treating you for a rare dissociative disorder for six years!  The therapeutic relationship is not so easily forgotten.

It’s important that you seek professional help while you are feeling suicidal.  I am not a therapist and can’t give advice, but I wonder if something may have triggered your relapse, and who better than your old therapist to help you get back on the right path. Whether you chose to see him or not, it’s important to talk to someone who can help you. It’s not too late!

Wishing you all my best.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

