Karen answers Cynthia

Comment by Cynthia on February 15, 2009 7:41 pm

Hi Karen, I just happened to watch one episode of The United States of Tara last night and I wasn’t impressed with it at all. I like Toni Collete and think she is a great actress but, there is something about the show that rubs me really wrong (maybe I do not get all the dark humor). I hope in the future someone can produce a better show about multiple personality disorder because I think the writers did a poor job on this one.

I also just wanted to thank you also for keeping this message board up…I love reading all the questions and your answers are great.

Thanks for listening,

Cynthia

Dear Cynthia,

I can understand why you weren’t too impressed with USoT.  I have many mixed feelings myself.  I have come to accept that “The United States of Tara” is just a television show, for entertainment, and not a true depiction of multiplicity.

I have viewed the first six episodes and have made many comments on the IMDb message board, trying my best to wedge in the truth about multiplicity for those who are interested.  I noticed there are many people that are confused as to the truth of this illness.  I want to help them understand a little more. The show does sadden me at times when certain things make no sense and are falsely represented.  I try my best not to compare Tara to myself, because there is no comparison. Simply, I’m real and Tara is not. I will continue to watch the show out of curiosity, but I will not take it seriously.

Thank you for your questions.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

