Karen answers Anonymous

Comment by Anonymous on February 18, 2009 6:21 pm

Karen do you think dreams sometimes have hidden messages?  I am not a dream expert but I notice on occasion I will have dreams that have a strong message for me or somone close to me.  I also wanted to know did your dreams change after your alters were integrated?  Thank you.

Dear Anonymous,

I’m not sure if dreams have hidden messages.  That is a good question.  I’ve had some very intense dreams, some of which even came true, but I never really understood why I dreamt in such a way. During the years when my therapy was intense, my dreams would startle me awake in the middle of the night.  Memories shared during the day would somehow enter my dreams, mix with the alters’ thoughts, and turn into distress.

I was lucky to be able to write my dreams down quickly upon waking and share these dreams with Dr. Baer, who in turn helped me understand where my dream may have come from. He would always give some logical explanation that gave me a sense of calm.  I didn’t remember every dream, just the intense dreams, or some that disturbed or puzzled me.  It’s a good idea to keep a pad of paper and pencil beside your bed. If a dream isn’t written down immediately upon waking, it loses it’s strength and fades away.  I needed to write my dreams before I lost them.

Did my dreams change after integration?  Yes and No.  Sometimes I still have a bad dream, but most of the time my dreams comfort me.  I feel a sense of calm in knowing that I am one woman who won’t take being abused anymore, a woman who has survived something incomprehensible, a woman who longs to live in the present, not in the past, and continues to search for peace.

Thank you for your questions, sleep well, and allow your dreams to be. Accept your dreams for what they are, a cumulation of your day, your life, thoughts and ideas. 

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

