Karen answers Marvin

Comment by Marvin on February 22, 2009 2:46 am

Hi Karen,

What do the pictures of the upside down hand tree and the stars falling from the sky to Jesus mean to you? Do you remember what Jensen was thinking when he drew them? What about the picture of the devil in biker clothes?

Marvin

Dear Marvin,

Interesting questions.  I suppose there may have been more than one interpretation for the pictures he drew, whether his own or through me.  I believe my thoughts about this now come from what Jensen thought then.

The picture of the upside down tree, I believe, meant that God was holding me firmly in place here on earth, that it wasn’t my time to die, that I needed to stay grounded. The tree branches meant God’s arms, and the branches, His veins of life giving energy to me.

The picture of the stars falling from the sky, I believe, meant Jesus called on God to send angels, in the form of alters, to me.  Each star had an alter’s name, and came into me and helped me survive.  Jesus is calmly sitting on a rock, holding me, accepting the gifts God sent, each a coping mechanism of alter help for me.

The picture drawn of the devil in biker clothes, I believe, tells an entire story.  He is dressed in biker clothes because he is full of himself as my abusive father was.  Maybe he is my father.  I believe the devil’s choice of dress represents his cockiness. If you notice the devil is upfront in the picture while I, the child, is being drawn to heaven even while being shackled to the stake on the ground.  If you notice, there is plenty of rope to get to where I want to be.  The devil is so preoccupied with himself, smiling and facing a camera, that he isn’t even paying attention that God has come for me despite his attempt to keep me.

Thank you, Marvin, for these challenging questions.

Karen

1 Comment

  1. Karen, I couldn’t help but think about you the other night when I watched a fascinating movie called The Three faces of Eve with Joanne Woodward. This movie was based on a true account of a woman by the name of Chris Costner-Sizemore who had MPD. I did some research and found out that her integration therapy was not very successful and she had 22 diffrent personalities before she was ever cured. There are a a series of autobiographies written about her life and one with her son telling what it was like growing up with a mother who had MPD… Take Care, Cynthia


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

