Karen answers Lovely

Comment by Lovely on February 27, 2009 6:24 pm

Karen, I know you write you had been integrated but how is it possible not to have had any effects from this? I pondered asking you these questions in my attempt to understand but how is it possible that your pain was removed? After alter Julie integrated did you ever suffer leg pain again? What about headaches? Did integration cure your headaches?

I am in awe of you but feel Richard Baer didn’t treat you very well. I know the book shows he did but while reading inbetween the lines I felt something. He hurt you, didn’t he?

Thank you for telling your story. I will share it with some of my friends who would appreciate the truth about your disorder.

God Bless YOU!

Lovely (Yes, my real name)

Dear Lovely,

Beautiful name!  I know it’s hard to understand someone like me, who suffered from multiplicity, who had alters taking away my pain so I could survive, but it’s true.  I’m not sure how to explain how my mind was able to accomplish diverting pain. I believe that my pain was somehow temporarily displaced, removed from my immediate awareness.

After the integration of Julie, my leg pain decreased within a few weeks and has never returned. My ex-alter Julie’s leg pain was psychological and came from memories of being abused; there was no real physical problem with either of my legs. Once integrated, my pain was diluted within the rest of me.  The headaches that came from having multiplicity were removed and never returned.  Switching alters caused much stress that would produce severe, unmanageable headaches.  Interestingly, at times, switching to another alter could eliminate my headache. It’s all still somewhat of a mystery to me!

I can understand your feelings regarding Richard Baer.  There was much frustration throughout those years, however, we decided to share the truth about how intense it is to treat a multiple like me, so that the reader could visualize and feel the experience of our journey.

What started out to be a stressful, annoying, intolerable therapeutic relationship turned into a healing experience for both of us.  Dr. Baer and I worked very hard to give me a chance at a life that I never thought possible.  I admit, tolerance played a huge part, but we did it!  How amazing is that!

Thank you for your compliments and for sharing Switching Time with your friends!

Karen

1 Comment

  1. I don’t know why this is important to me, maybe because I am dealing with my own healing from DID. Did you get any money for the book? I know that the Doc wrote it but you lived it. It just seems to me that you should get at least 1/2 of the profit.
    I have wanted to ask you this almost every day for the past 4 or 5 months.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

