Karen answers Measlam

Comment by Measlam on March 8, 2009 8:03 pm

I don’t know why this is important to me, maybe because I am dealing with my own healing from DID. Did you get any money for the book? I know that the Doc wrote it but you lived it. It just seems to me that you should get at least 1/2 of the profit.

I have wanted to ask you this almost every day for the past 4 or 5 months.

Dear Measlam,

I don’t mind answering any questions asked here. I’m sorry that you felt the need to wait for four or five months to ask your question. There are more than a few people who wonder about how I am being compensated for my part in sharing my story.  For me, it is my hope to share my journey to help others through their own journey of healing.  I believe we each learn from each other by asking and telling.

To answer your question, it’s important for you and everyone to know that Dr. Baer and I collaborated to write Switching Time.  Dr. Baer is the author and I reviewed his chapters for accuracy, added background information, and of course, many of my writings are quoted in the book.  Yes I do receive proceeds from the sale of our book. Neither of us could have written our story without the combined support, trust, and respect for each other.  It was teamwork at it’s best!

Thank you for asking this difficult question.

Karen

2 Comments

  1. Did any of your multiples ever come out when you were with friends who you trusted and were comfortable with? If so did they notice or comment?

  2. Thank you Karen for answering Measlam and Sally in such a thoughtul heartelt way. You know how I would answer? I would’ve told them off, swear and not answered them with respect. I applaud you. You do make a difference to the lives of people who suffer. Why didn’t Oprah have you on her show? What’s wrong with that picture? Doesn’t she know about you?

    Grateful to you.
    Mel


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

