Karen answers Tom

Comment by Tom on March 19, 2009 3:20 am

Karen,

Do you have any addictions? Do multiple personalities usually have addiction problems?

Tom

Dear Tom,

As far as those who suffer from multiplicty are concerned, no, I don’t believe multiples have addictive personalities.  In my opinion, alters are created to help one survive.  Therefore, no time for obsessions or addictions to form.

In answering your question about me, I ask myself, “What defines an addiction?”  I have been told I have none, however, I disagree.  I am surely addicted to trying to change angry, insensitive, arrogant, and pessimistic people with one act of kindness at a time.  I can’t help but think that there is something good in each and every one of us.  Kill them with kindness, is what my heart tells me.  Whether this an addiction, I ‘m not sure.  I’m not an expert on these matters.

I believe never giving up on people can be an addiction. Why?  Because not only can my addiction cause me grief, it can cause headaches, depressed thoughts, and even threaten to diminish my spirit.  Nevertheless, it’s in my nature to continue being kind and writing kind thoughts, even to those who can’t change. 

Thank you for your question.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

