Karen answers Kimberly’s Second Comment

Comment by Kimberly on March 27, 2009 7:24 pm

Thank you, Karen Overhill!

You have helped me with your advice. I didnt think of the things you said. I took your advice and called a child protection welfare agency and asked the questions brought on by your answer. I carefully chose each question before making my call. I wrote them down. I was shocked that they said exactly what you said, almost word for word. You should be a counselor. I chose to leave my name because I needed to hear feedback to rest. I was relieved to find the child in question suffers from a medical condition that scares her into having nightmares. The child is hooked up to a machine every night that monitors her breathing. I don’t know details except she stops breathing alot. I was assured she was okay. I was thanked for being concerned. The parents of the girl never knew I called. But they told the case worker to thank me. I feel your advice saved the day. Thank you. Keep on truckin! I am happy you can help people who are confused.

Kimberly

Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for writing back and sharing your experience. I’m glad to hear you did the right thing. I’m sure you are relieved to know the truth about what you heard. I admire you for what you’ve done. I know how hard it must’ve been to pick up the phone and make that call to share your thought that a child was being abused, but you did!  That was a good thing. I’m glad all turned out well.

We need more people like you to be aware of suspected child abuse. In this case, it turned out to be a medical condition, but it may not have been, and you could’ve saved the child from further harm. I am also glad the girl’s parents acted in a responsible way by cooperating with the case worker and telling her to thank you for being concerned. I would hope all people would act that way, to not take offense, but to be grateful that someone cared enough to check out suspected abuse.

Thank you for being a good neighbor and caring enough to share.

Karen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

